Infor for a newbie on using leisure battery?

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

thatkeith
Apprentice Bongonaut

Infor for a newbie on using leisure battery?

Post by thatkeith » Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:53 pm

Hi all - I'm a newbie... well, sort of: I've had a Bongo for a year but not posted here before and I'm not experienced at car mechanics. My Bongo has two batteries under the bonnet, and I was told one is the leisure battery. Don't know which one though!

I recently used my Bongo at a festival. (Yes, I was in a field on Friday 20th July - I didn't get flooded but my back home the chimney did get hit by lightning!)
I used a powered coolbox for a while, had the radio on also used an iPod charger and cassette adaptor some of the time when I was sheltering from the rain, and I charged mobiles for my son and his friends. And on the last day... yep, ran out of power. What a mug, eh? :-)

I got a jump-start from someone nearby and got started with no problems, and the battery's been fine ever since, just as before. Starting is great, and so on. But on Wednesday the whole family is going camping at a festival.

What should I do to avoid having the same problem? (Surely not just 'don't use electrical stuff'!)

Should I switch something to use the leisure battery when we're parked up? (From reading the forums it seems I was silly to think it was handled automatically.)

Could someone possibly give me some hints & tips - preferably designed for someone who doesn't have a multimeter or know how to use one! ;-)

Thanks all! See you on the road...

Keith
patnben
Bongolier

Post by patnben » Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:00 pm

Buy yourself a digital volt meter and spend half an hour
learning how to use it.
thatkeith
Apprentice Bongonaut

Post by thatkeith » Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:08 pm