First time working on a bongo. Remote central locking

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

BigMatB
Junior Bongonaut

First time working on a bongo. Remote central locking

Post by BigMatB » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:21 pm

Hi guys n gals.

Bongo newbie here. I'm just making a start on customising our Bongo and have a couple of jobs to do. Have turned middle seat around ready for fitting the rear conversion, easy enough. Got some wiring to add in next - First thing I want to do is fitting remote central locking. Looks like I need the remote unit and a solenoid to drive the drivers door lock. Was thinking of these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/270869869825? ... 1423.l2649
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/190320342026? ... 1423.l2649

Was wondering if anyone else had used these or similar items. Or if you'd recommend specific ones for bongos.

Also if there are any pit falls or easy mistakes to make when doing these? Has anyone had any problems I can learn from before I order and fit?

Cheers All and hope to catch up with some of you soon.

Mat.
To fully enjoy life one must take big bites. Moderation is for monks!
winchman
Supreme Being

Re: First time working on a bongo. Remote central locking

Post by winchman » Tue Jun 24, 2014 6:39 am

Any should do but I would get one that has a sliding cover over the buttons as mine will work from the back garden to the other side of the road, so if pressed in your pocket it may unlock with out you knowing
BigMatB
Junior Bongonaut

Post by BigMatB » Tue Jun 24, 2014 9:37 pm

Thanks Winchman.

Didn't know that was an option. I've got a remote for my garage, which is one button for open/stop and close. Regularly have the issue of not being sure if I hit it a second time. I'll have a look for one with a cover, that's a great idea.

Thanks for the tip.

Presume the work is easy enough though yeah?
winchman
Supreme Being

Post by winchman » Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:08 pm