Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

tim.shaw
Apprentice Bongonaut

Introduction ...

Post by tim.shaw » Sat May 16, 2020 10:54 pm

Hi,

My name's tim.

I'm a recent re-joiner to BongoFury, but I was a member a while back. I've had my Bongo for 10 years(ish) now (and I've used the site in the meantime when I wanted to know something)
I'm introducing myself here, but the introduction is a bit long, so I'll ask the questions I have in Techie Stuff.
I hope this is the right place.
This isn't a plea for help or anything - I'm more than happy with how it's going.

Anyway.
I'm physically disabled - my right leg doesn't work, so I have to use crutches and can't do carrying etc - and my Bongo has been my 'space to got to' for the last 10 years.
It also takes me anywhere I want to go.
I'm a software professional, and play with electronics quite a lot. Done bikes and cars in the past.
My Bongo was born between July 1999 and August 2000 (roughly), V6, Aero Type 4 body(?). Black.
I got it directly from JAL, where it was converted from a tin-roof. Side unit : cooker, sink, fridge, cupboards; rock'n'roll, LPG and a mushroom.
I don't use the sink or fridge, and the cooker only for heating purposes :-) Bed bit's crucial - as it's also really comfy to sit/slouch, and I do use it for stopovers/freedom.
It has been regularly serviced, but not maintained, and I had to question what to do when it was obvious the MOT would fail (rust and general neglect).
I genuinely tried looking for something else that I would feel as comfortable with ... and failed.
So, armed with that experience, I decided I'd invest in getting the Bongo sorted for the next phase of it's (and my) life.
I thought 3 years is a decent loan/value/duration - and I definitely want it to last that long (as I intend to too)!