A slight twist to the "bleeding method"

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

helen&tony
Supreme Being

A slight twist to the "bleeding method"

Post by helen&tony » Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:53 am

Hi
When bleeding the Bongo, the big bug-bear is often the funnel full of hot coolant ....VERY hot coolant , if you've done it right. Tony always managed near burn status on his hands, and it made the job hell, with me sitting doing the throttle and topping up, and Tony doing a jig with burning hands. The other thing has always been could we trust a garage to do it with the funnel. Frankly, if I was a mechanic in a workshop, I would likely think it's a bit Heath Robinson, and unlike any other car...so....like others, I scratched my head for something simple.
We stopped using a funnel some years ago, and used a jug full of coolant and the bleed hose in the jug giving off bubbles. It's worked for 15-20 times (we have done a lot of experimenting with the cooling system / gauges). Still the same problem with putting the jug down with one hand and wrestling with hot coolant and a bung to put in the hose. Still the burning hand issue! We looked at valves, semi-automatic with taps and floats, you name it, but still the issue of "would a garage play"
Eventually , the obvious hit....so simple, it's ridiculous! Here's the photos:

The jug is a polythene jug with a hollow handle, and this is cut to feed the tube through. The tube is 10 mm PVC or similar, and the joints in the tube are standard hard right-angles. The tap shown is a 10 mm fuel tap. This probably needs to be metal to work well with one hand.
The first photo shows the tubing cut to fit into the handle, but swung out of the way, and cut to fit the angled pieces, so that when it's turned to fit into the jug, it is below the fluid which you put into the jug to cover the end of the PVC tube.