leisure battery - connected but not working

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

bobby_badger
Bongonaut

leisure battery - connected but not working

Post by bobby_badger » Tue May 04, 2021 10:53 am

Hi

Total newbie here. Just bought a Bongo (97 TD 2.5 automatic) and the seller said it has a leisure battery which they never used so they couldn't guarantee/comment on its use. We bought it on that understanding, but as it has a second battery under the bonnet and it is wired up in some way we'd obviously like to get it working if possible. Nothing inside works unless the engine is running or the key is in the ignition. There's a hob/sink unit at the back which has a couple of 3 pin plugs on the side which are wired up to some sort of a box inside the unit and a power invertor, but I'll worry about that later.

I have been reading on this forum and looked at the FAQs (NB the link to the beginner's guide is broken - https://igmaynard.co.uk/bongo/memberson ... ricity.pdf) so I know more than I did but that only makes me realise how little I know :roll:. I know about a split charge relay but I can't see a box under the bonnet that could be that. I know that some Bongos had a second starter battery but from what I can make out there would be a switch on the dashboard for using that, but there is none.

If any knowledgeable people on here would be kind enough to look and suggest how the battery is connected I will at least have a starting point/know what needs fixing.

Under the bonnet I can see the second battery is wired up and earthed;
20210502_101615v2.jpg
From what I can see the wiring is fused and runs along a pipe to the fuse box;
20210502_101757v2.jpg
Then as far as I can see it then goes through the bulkhead into the vehicle;
20210502_101924.jpg
Could it be the two batteries are running in parallel?

Sorry for the lengthy post - thanks for looking. Any tips gratefully received!

thanks,
Iain
Bob
Supreme Being