JAL sub 2m pop top roof

Questions & answers about kitchen units, stoves, fridges, heaters, water tanks, seats, mattresses etc etc.

Moderator: Doone

rallen
Apprentice Bongonaut

JAL sub 2m pop top roof

Post by rallen » Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:22 am

Hey everyone!

Newbie here so apologies if I have posted in the wrong place.

I have seen that JAL are offering a super slim pop to roof for the bongo. Has anyone here had one fitted or seen one?

I like the idea of being under 2m but I'm unsure whether to go for it or not.

Any help greatly appreciated. :)

https://www.jalimports.co.uk/camper-roofs.html
Bob
Supreme Being

Re: JAL sub 2m pop top roof

Post by Bob » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:24 am

Hi, welcome aboard.

I've not seen one of those in the flesh, but it looks really slick.

Main thing is make sure you can operate it easily. Some aftermarket roofs have to be operated from outside and require carrying a ladder/long pole. Not sure how this operates, and anyhow, it's not a problem if you're happy with it.
rallen
Apprentice Bongonaut

Post by rallen » Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:33 am

Thanks for the welcome Bob :D

I am not sure how it operates - The guy I spoke to on the phone wasn't particularly forthcoming with details for it.
I'll try and find out some more about it

He also said he doesn't have any that he can show me in person currently so I am really looking to see if anyone has this roof fitted or can recommend it.

I fear I could be making an expensive mistake with the little info I have
g8dhe
Supreme Being

Post by g8dhe » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:00 pm

Do actually try out these after-market roofs, lots of problems with rusting hinges (not stainless steel) poor internal ventilation (condensation and mould), heavy lifting several members have sold on there vehicles to get lighter roofs!
Geoff
2001 Aero V6, AFT, full side conversion.
Image Spherical Visions
Bob
Supreme Being

Post by Bob » Tue Jul 14, 2020 1:03 pm