Campsite prices..??

Stayed at a good site? Or a really poor one? And what about wild camping? Put your comments here.

Moderator: westonwarrior

Dr Fingers
Supreme Being

Campsite prices..??

Post by Dr Fingers » Sun Jul 29, 2012 10:50 pm

OK, let's keep this simple.

We're complete, total newbs to Bongoing and camping, just gearing up for our first little trip to the New Forest, having had a yen to do this for years.

I'd always thought that camping was an 'inexpensive' occupation. So far, of course, I've spent on the van, and the necessary bits and pieces, and we're just about ready to rock..signed up to C+C club, and so forth.

so.. I run some searches on camp sites in the New Forest..admittedly in August, eg

https://booking.campingintheforest.co.u ... ode=Forest

£30-40 per night, for 2 x adults, 1 dog, for just a grass pitch, with no electricity? I know a couple of very nice hotels down there that laterooms.com can do for £65, with ensuite etc.

Factor in quite a few thousand for the van, and I'm wondering if this is actually worth pursuing?

I'm not mean spirited, but if people tear the a**e out of it, they'll just kill the Golden Goose. Just look at the Greeks..who actually didn't put there prices up this year(( =D> =D> ). This July we paid £30 per night for 2 rooms with air con, on a beach, + £500 for flights.

To be fair, I know nothing about the costs of running a good campsite, nothing whatsoever, but £35 a night for a patch of damp English grass is not too appealing.

Derek
Simon Jones
Supreme Being

Re: Campsite prices..??

Post by Simon Jones » Sun Jul 29, 2012 11:02 pm

Must admit we tend not to go away during school holiday times as the prices always go up. From my experience, a decent campsite can set you back £15 - £25 per night (based on to two people with electric hook up). A basic pitch is a bit cheaper, but it's the extra like electric, awning, dog etc that can push the price up.