some advice on bongo weatherproofing.

stewby
Bongolier

some advice on bongo weatherproofing.

Post by stewby » Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:53 am

i hope i have done this right. sorry, first post.
:oops:

i am going to a festival in june and it is my first time taking the bongo (it's actually my parent's bongo but they are letting me use it for going away weekends and stuff).

given the weather the past few years, i am really concerned about getting mud and water damage on the seats and was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for seat covers which can be used on the rear seats (that could possibly stay in place whilst it is down as a bed as well. so something that is waterproof, hard-wearing but not as solid as taurpaulin.

it's a beautiful vehicle and i would hate to damage it.
thank you for your time.
:D
winchman
Supreme Being

Re: some advice on bongo weatherproofing.

Post by winchman » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:43 am

Welcom
I feel you have two options.
Buy a spare set of seats dont laugh its only 8 bolts and it would put your mind at rest.
The carpets are very durable I removed mine and jet washed them!
This place made some for me many years ago we used them on the back seat as the kids made a right mess.
http://www.carseatcovers.co.uk/car-seat ... eat-covers

Aldi also do some good ones if they fit?
Loads on Enbay just have a good look at the quality
Muzorewa
Supreme Being

Post by Muzorewa » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:10 am

I wouldn't worry about mud particularly, it'll dry and brush off, at worst use wet-wipes for a DIY valet. As long as there's no oil or staining food in the mud you should be able to clean it up before you give it back :wink:
stewby
Bongolier

Post by stewby » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:05 am

thank you very much for your replies.

i never thought about getting them made. sounds like a good plan though. will have to look into it.
:P