New to all things Bongo

Anything non-technical about the Mazda Bongo Friendee van

Moderators: Bongoplod, aitch

teamgrimes
Apprentice Bongonaut

New to all things Bongo

Post by teamgrimes » Sun Mar 27, 2016 8:29 pm

Hi all,
I am seriously considering purchasing a Mazda Bongo for myself and my young family. Problem is, I am very new to this, and would really appreciate some advice.
I would like to buy a Bongo for everyday use for my wife, but with a proper camper conversion so that we can go away whenever we like. My wife stays at home with my young children, so the day to day miles are very limited, but obviously with children of 3 and 2, it is very important that the vehicle is reliable.
Firstly some info about myself. We need a second car, as I have the main car for day to day commute to work, but we also want cheap holiday potential, so feel that a Mazda Bongo would be ideal. I am fairly limited mechanically, but am willing to learn. However, caveat that with the fact I have a pretty full on full time job, and have a young family with lots of family commitments, so don’t have a great deal of spare time! More than happy to tinker, and find a good mechanic for the things I can’t do.
Secondly, what I would like from the Bongo. Ideally I would like one with a roof tent, and a rear camper conversion. There are a few extra stipulations though that make it a bit more complicated.
1. The Second rear bench needs to be reversible. So for the day to day commute, the seat is facing forward with the child seats in it. Then when we have gone away, we can spin the seat round to face the other way and into the rear conversion. I know this is not usual, but I have found a few companies that do it.
2. Top tent with mattress- Any opinion on whether this is suitable for young children, as I probably won’t fit in! Not really a problem if it’s not, as we can all fit in the main bed for now if needed.
3. Lowish mileage- around 80-90k max.