Bongo not wanting to start in the mornings, please help :)

Technical questions and answers about the Mazda Bongo

Moderators: Doone, westonwarrior

sarahblue
Apprentice Bongonaut

Bongo not wanting to start in the mornings, please help :)

Post by sarahblue » Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:04 am

Hi guys, I'm new to the bongo world as just bought my van in October after previously owning a T4. My lovely van is an N reg 2.4 d auto. I am driving him daily.

I noticed a couple of times (the odd day) after long drives that my van struggled to start the next day. I would go through the starting points of waiting for the orange light and it would then try to start but it would tick over and then eventually fire up and start. When the cold weather came about 2 weeks ago it then did the above every morning I tried to start it. I've been to a mechanic who knows bongos very well and he has tested the batteries etc, the glow plugs have also been changed as well at the glow plug starter relay but the starting problem is still continuing.

So what is happening is
First start of the day - I am going through the starting points now of turning the key, waiting for the orange light to go out, wait for the click which can be about 10 secs (i have tried both waiting for the click and not waiting for the click and its still doing the same), i then try to start it. It then attempts to start and starts ticking over but struggles to fire up and cuts out. I try it again and then it eventually fires up and the engine continues running but it sounds like its not getting the power it needs but then with a press on the accelerator it eventually sounds like its ready to run then when its running it drives about great. I can then come and go through the day and it doesn't have a problem starting on one turn of the key, light goes out, the relay clicks straight away and its running fine.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated please.
Many Thanks!

ps if I don't reply straight away I'll be at work.
g8dhe